Visa Information System – for short-stays?

The countries on the Schengen space created a new shared database to control the Visas of short term visitors – turists. The system will be used on the borders of the Schengen space and will collec the visas that are requested, issued, refused, annulled, revoked or extended, as well as the fingerprints of all the non-residents travelling into the countries constituents of the space.

This mechanism is to be implemented, at this moment, in consulates  in the countries in the North Africa and Near and Middle East – Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Tunisia, Israel, Jordan, the Lebanon, Syria, Afghanistan, Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

At this moment this system is not to be used with residents from the Schengen countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *